Niger Assembly, Wuse Emerges Speaker

By Pita Chib, Minna

 A former commissioner for Justice, in the previous adaministration, Hon Abdullahi Bawa wuse, on Tuesday emerged as the Speaker of the Niger State House of Assembly.

Bawa was a former chairman of Tafa local government and also a former commissioner in the administration of former governor Muazu Babangida Aliyu.

The House of Assembly had to suspend the standing order to enable a first timer become the Speaker.

The nomination of the Speaker was done by the immediate past Speaker of the Assembly, Hon. Ahmed Marafa and was uniamously accepted as no other contender came out.

The Member representing Bida 1 Constituency, Hon Bako Kasim Alfa was nominated and uniamously elected as the Deputy Speaker.

In his address after being sworn in, the Speaker of the  Niger state House of Assembly, Honorable Bawa Wuse appreciated his colleagues for the confidence imposed on him and the APC leadership in the state for ensuring the stability in the state Assembly.

Wuse said that the 9th Assembly will cooperate with the executive in taking the state high in the development index,  adding that there will not be acrimony and unwarranted rancour between the three arms of government.

He also assured to give speedy passage of executive and private member bills and ensure that laws are made that would be beneficial to the people.

"We will surpass the  achievenements of the 8th Assembly, we will make laws that will improve on the lives of the people. The task before us is enormous but we will strive to meet up with every challenge and draw the courage to lift the state to a new dawn.

"the 9th Assembly will boost peaceful coexistence, boost the local economy and work to improyrge internally generated revenue of the state."

The Speaker said the legislature will be fair to all in the discharge of its duties stressing that the Legislature is not out to witch-hunt any individual, ministry, department or agency.

In his address, the Niger state Deputy Governor, Ahmed Ketso, congratulated the new Speaker and members of the 9th Assembly urging them to make effective laws and carry out their oversight function with all seriousness.

The Deputy Governor stressed the need for all to work together to move the state forward.

Other principal leader who emerged include the Majority Leader,  Musa Suleiman Nasko from Magama Constituency, the Deputy Majority Leader, Jagaba Danjuma Andrew representing Munya constituency, Chief Whip, Idris Musa Vatsa representing Lapai constituency and Deputy Chief Whip,  Ibrahim Isah Dandodo representing Rijau Constituency.
Share on Google Plus


    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a comment